DIEGO MESA COLLEGE ACADEMIC SENATE SAN

# 7250 MESA COLLEGE DRIVE, SAN DIEGO, CA 92111-4998 (619) 388-2733 FAX (619) 388-2929

## SAN DIEGO MESA COLLEGE ACADEMIC SENATE MEETING September 12, 2016: Room MC 211B (2:15PM - 4:00PM) **AGENDA**

- Ι. CALL TO ORDER & WELCOME by Academic Senate President Rob Fremland: Parliamentarian – Jonathan McLeod/Timekeeper – Becca Arnold/Speaker Coordinator – Paul Sykes
- **APPROVAL OF DRAFT AGENDA**: (1 Minute) II.

#### III. **PUBLIC PRESENTATIONS:**

- A. Associated Student Government (ASG) Representative: Inter-Club Council President Angela Arreaga B. Classified Senate Representative: President Trina Larson
- IV. GUEST(s): None
- V. APPROVAL OF DRAFT MINUTES: May 2, 2016 (2 Minutes)
- ROUND TABLE TOPIC: None VI.

#### VII. **OLD BUSINESS:**

- A. Institutional Learning Outcomes (ILOs): Academic Senate President Rob Fremland (Tabled)
- B. Academic Affairs Committee Research Paper Expanding the Definition of Student Success: Chair Howard Eskew (Second Reading)
- 2016-2019 Mesa College Technology Plan: Professor Erika Higginbotham C.
- D. Mesa College Mission Statement: Planning & Institutional Effectiveness (Dean Madeleine Hinkes)
- E. Fall 2016 Distance Education Title 5 Substantive Change Report: Curriculum Coordinator Chris Kinney

#### NEW BUSINESS: VIII.

- A. Accreditation Self Evaluation: Professor Chris Sullivan
- Resolution 16.9.1 Academic Senate's Role in Outcomes Assessment: Senate President Rob Fremland Β.
- Memorandum of Understanding (MOU) Process: Senate President Rob Fremland С.
- D. Guideline to Outcomes and Assessments: Committee on Outcomes & Assessments (COA)

#### SENATE EXECUTIVE OFFICER REPORTS: 3:15PM IX.

- A. President Elect: Kim Perigo (No Report)
- B. Secretary: Becca Arnold (No Report)
- Treasurer: Toni Parsons (1 Minute) С.
- D. Senator at Large (1): Joe Safdie (No Report)
- E. Senator at Large (2): Paul Sykes (No Report)
- F. President: Rob Fremland (10 Minutes)

#### Χ. COMMITTEE REPORTS: (3:30PM)

### Senate Executive Committees: Α.

- 1.
- <u>Academic Affairs Committee</u>: Chair Howard Eskew (No Report) <u>Professional Advancement Committee (PAC)</u>: Chair Lupe Gonzalez (1 Minute) 2.
- Committee of Chairs (COC): Chair of Chairs Manuel Velez (1 Minute) 3.
- 4. Curriculum Review Committee (CRC): Co-Chair Paula Gustin (1 Minute)
- Faculty/Staff Advisory Committee on Threats (FACT): Becca Arnold (No Report) 5.
- Program Review Committee (PRC): Co-Chair Dina Miyoshi (2 Minutes) 6.

## B. Other Committees:

- 1. Basic Skills Committee (BSC): Coordinator Wendy Smith (1 Minute)
- The Committee for Diversity Action, Inclusion & Equity (CDAIE): Chair Judy Sundayo (1 Minute) 2.
- Mesa College Facilities Committee/District Review of Services Committee: Kim Perigo (No Report) 3.
- 4. Proyecto Exito: Toni Parsons (1 Minute)
- Catalog Committee: Paul Sykes (1 Minute) 5.
- 6. Other Committee Reports: (1 Minute)

#### XI. **ANNOUNCEMENTS:** (1 Minute)

- The next Academic Senate meeting is scheduled for September 26, 2016 in MC 211 @ 2:15PM. Α.
- The next Committee of Chairs meeting is scheduled for September 14, 2016 in MC 211B @ 2:30PM. Β.

### **ADJOURNMENT:** XII.

This is an open meeting and visitors and observers are welcome. However, because of limited space, we ask that visitors sit in the extra chairs provided against the walls to leave room available at the table for voting Senators and ex-officio members.