

SAN DIEGO MESA COLLEGE ACADEMIC SENATE MEETING September 24, 2018: Room MC 211 A/B (2:30PM-4:00PM) AGENDA

I. CALL TO ORDER & WELCOME by Academic Senate President Kim Perigo: <u>Parliamentarian</u> – Veronica Gerace/<u>Timekeeper</u> – Inna Kanevsky/<u>Speaker Coordinator</u> – Becca Arnold

II. APPROVAL OF DRAFT AGENDA: (1 Minute)

III. PUBLIC PRESENTATIONS:

- A. Associated Student Government (ASG) Representative: Mariam Platon
- B. Classified Senate Representative: Vice President Yolanda Catano
- IV. APPROVAL OF DRAFT MINUTES: May 7, 2018 (2 Minutes)

V. GUESTs:

A. Mesa College Guided Pathways Inquiry Groups: (Dean Tina Recalde, Associate Dean Bridget Herrin and Tutoring Center Coordinator Mark Manasse)

VI. ROUND TABLE TOPIC:

A. Academic Senate Orientation:

VII. OLD BUSINESS:

- A. Resolution 18.5.2 Constitutional Changes Career Technical Education (CTE) Committee: Dina Miyoshi
- B. Resolution 18.5.3 Creation of the Fine & Performing Arts Committee: N. Scott Robinson/George Ye

VIII. NEW BUSINESS:

- A. Creation of the Strong Workforce Committee: (Reports to President Cabinet) Dina Miyoshi
- B. Academic Senate Parliamentary Procedures: Veronica Gerace/Kim Perigo

IX. SENATE EXECUTIVE OFFICER REPORTS: 3:15PM

- A. President Elect: Manuel Velez (No Report)
- B. Vice President: Dina Miyoshi (No Report)
- C. Secretary: Inna Kanevsky (No Report)
- D. Treasurer: Becca Arnold (No Report) (New Treasurer for 2018-2019/2019-2020 Term)(Manuel Velez is also a signatory.)
- E. Senator at Large (1): Alison Gurganus (No Report)
- F. Senator at Large (2): Holly Jagielinski (No Report)
- G. President: Kim Perigo (10 Minutes)

X. COMMITTEE REPORTS: (3:30PM)

A. Senate Executive Committees:

- 1. Academic Affairs Committee: Chair Howard Eskew (1 Minute)
- 2. Professional Advancement Committee (PAC): Chair Janna Braun (2 Minutes)
- 3. <u>Committee of Chairs (COC)</u>: Chair of Chairs Terry Kohlenberg (1 Minute)
- 4. Curriculum Review Committee (CRC): Faculty Co-Chair Andrew Hoffman (5 Minutes)
- 5. Program Review Committee (PRC): Faculty Co-Chair Bruce Naschak (1 Minute)

B. Other Committees:

- 1. Basic Skills Committee (BSC): (No Report)
- 2. <u>The Committee for Diversity Action, Inclusion & Equity (CDAIE)</u>: Chair Judy Sundayo (No Report)
- 3. Mesa College Facilities Committee/District Review of Services Committee: President Kim Perigo (1 Minute)
- 4. <u>Mesa College Guided Pathways Committee</u>: President Elect Manuel Velez (1 Minute)
- 5. Other Committee Reports: (No Reports)

XI. ANNOUNCEMENTS: (1 Minute)

- A. The next Academic Senate meeting is scheduled for October 8, 2018 in MC 211 @ 2:30PM.
- B. The next Committee of Chairs (COC) meeting is scheduled for September 26, 20188 in MC211 @ 2:30PM.
- C. The Memorial Service for Custodian Ray Vital is Friday, October 12, 2018 from 11:00AM 12:30PM at the LRC Quad Area.
- **D.** Please donate to The "Stand" and help provide emergency support to help our students succeed.

XII. ADJOURNMENT:

This is an open meeting and visitors and observers are welcome. However, because of limited space, we ask that visitors sit in the extra chairs provided against the walls to leave room available at the table for voting Senators and ex-officio members.