Resolution 20.3.1: Support for Textbook Affordability: Burgert/Fremland/Motaleb

1st Reading: March 9, 2020

Move: Fremland

Second: Braun

Whereas, Assembly Bill 798, "College Textbook Affordability Act of 2015" (AB-798) was signed into law, establishing the Open Educational Resources Adoption Incentive Program; and

Whereas, the significant rise in costs of textbooks is a barrier to college attendance, student access and student success; and

Whereas, many Faculty are interested in reducing textbook costs while also ensuring the quality of content that is relevant, recent and applicable to their respective disciplines; and

Whereas, many Students have responded positively to the easy and reliable access to no cost and low cost materials including OER; and

Whereas, individual Faculty have academic freedom and choice to select instructional materials that may include high quality, lower cost, no cost or open educational resources (OER).

Resolved, that the Academic Senate of San Diego Mesa College supports efforts to increase student access to high-quality, no cost resources, low cost resources and open educational resources, and reduce the cost of textbooks and supplies for students;

Also resolved, that Faculty will still maintain the academic freedom and right to choose appropriate course materials regardless of cost or modality for their Students.

Yes (Proxy to Oscar V. Torres)

1st Reading: March 9, 2020

Adelson

Approved the Academic Senate: April 13, 2020

Vote Delineation:

Evan

		,	,
Carlynne	Allbee	Yes	
Isaac	Arguelles-Ibarra	Yes	
Becca	Arnold	Abstained	

JannaBraunYesMichaelBrewerAbsentHenryBrowneYes

Jill Chagnon Yes John Crocitti Yes Nellie Dougherty Yes Rosiangela Escamilla Yes Robert Fremland Yes Howard Eskew Absent

Veronica Abstained Gerace

Gibson Lou Ann Yes Helen Greenbergs Yes Alison Gurganus Yes Bill Hoefer Yes Andrew Hoffman Yes Larry Horsman Absent

Hughes Christina Huynh Yes Holly Jagielinski Yes

Sharon

Yes

Janue Johnson Yes Candace Katungi Yes

Keller Absent Jesse Kohlenberg Excused Terry

Kim Lacher Yes Cesar López Yes

Katherine Naimark Yes

Bruce Naschak Yes

Kim Perigo Yes

Alison Primoza Yes

Waverly Ray Yes

Anthony Reuss Yes

Robert Sanchez Yes

Jessica Sardo Absent

Kristian Secor Yes

Leslie Seiger Absent

Shannon Shi Absent

Stojimirovic Irena **Absent** Judy Sundayo Excused

George Svoboda Yes

Oscar V. Torres Yes

Manuel Velez Yes

Lauren Wade Absent

Walter Wesley Yes

Tonya Whitfield Yes

Kimberly Williams-Kee Excused