Resolution 17.9.1 – Compensation for Academic Senate Presidents: (Fremland)

1st Reading: September 11, 2017

Mover: Fremland

Seconded: Whitfield

Whereas Academic Senate Presidents regularly attend district level meetings including but not limited to District Governance Council (DGC), Budget Planning and Development Council, Board of Trustees (BOT) and;

Whereas these meetings occur every month including summer and;

Whereas it is essential, for the purposes of shared governance, that the faculty voice is well represented not only for voting, but for dialog and;

Whereas, in addition to these meetings, there is on-going work of the senate that needs to be attended to year round;

Whereas Academic Senate Presidents are 10 month employees;

Whereas this structure goes against the spirit of shared governance and makes it difficult to encourage faculty to move into these roles;

Be it resolved that the Academic Senates request that the District works with the faculty's bargaining agent to increase the contracts of the Academic Senate Presidents to 12-month contracts;

Be it further resolved that this resolution be submitted to the Academic Senates at our sister campuses (including Continuing Education) and, once passed, be presented to the Board of Trustees.

Presented to the Academic Senate: September 11, 2017

Approved by the Academic Senate:

The votes are delineated as follows:

Approved: Gina Abbiate Evan Adelson Leela Bingham Bill Brothers Henry Browne John Crocitti

Moe Ebrahimi

Howard Eskew

Rob Fremland

Amanda Fusco

Karen Geida

Veronica Gerace

Lou Ann Gibson

Helen Greenbergs

Alison Gurganus

Paula Gustin

Bill Hoefer

Larry Horsman

Sharon Hughes

Holly Jagielinsk

Inna Kanevsky

Candace Katungi

Michael Kidwell

Kim Lacher

Jonathan McLeod

Dina Miyoshi

Anthony Reuss

Robert Sanchez

Shannon Shi

Dawn Stoll

Judy Sundayo

Manuel Velez

Jorge Villalobos

Lauren Wade

Tonya Whitfield

Maria Jose Zeledon Perez

Opposed:

John Crocitti

Abstained:

Carlynne Allbee