## **Resolution 17.9.2 – Compensation for the Academic Senate**: (Fremland)

1<sup>st</sup> Reading: September 11, 2017

Mover: Greenbergs

Seconded: Kanevsky

Whereas members of the Senate Executive (exec) committee are typically committee chairs and;

Whereas this results in these faculty members being members of committees beyond that required by and compensated for in the CBA and;

Whereas this additional uncompensated work makes it extremely difficult to recruit faculty into Senate leadership roles and;

Whereas lack of faculty in leadership roles hinders the practice of shared governance and inhibits the college's ability to improve student learning;

Be it resolved that the Academic Senates request that the District increase the amount of reassigned time for each Academic Senate to 3.0 FTEF;

Be it further resolved that the Academic Senate will retain its discretion as to how this reassigned time is to be distributed among its members;

Be it further resolved that this resolution be submitted to the Academic Senates at our sister campuses (including Continuing Education) and, once passed, be presented to the Board of Trustees.

Presented to the Academic Senate: September 11, 2017

Approved by the Academic Senate: September 25, 2017

## The votes are delineated as follows:

Approved:
Gina Abbiate
Evan Adelson
Carlynne Allbee
Leela Bingham
Bill Brothers
Henry Browne
John Crocitti
Moe Ebrahimi
Howard Eskew

**Rob Fremland** Amanda Fusco Karen Geida Veronica Gerace Lou Ann Gibson Helen Greenbergs Alison Gurganus Paula Gustin Bill Hoefer Larry Horsman **Sharon Hughes** Holly Jagielinsk Inna Kanevsky Candace Katungi Michael Kidwell Kim Lacher Jonathan McLeod Dina Miyoshi Anthony Reuss Robert Sanchez Shannon Shi Dawn Stoll Judy Sundayo Manuel Velez Jorge Villalobos Lauren Wade Tonya Whitfield Maria Zeledon

Opposed: John Crocitti