

Resolution 18.5.1: Proposed Constitutional Change – Senator at Large Positions: Perigo

1st Reading: May 7, 2018

Mover: Bingham

Seconded: Siegel

Proposed Temporary Change to the AS Constitution Regarding eligibility of faculty to serve in the position of Senator at Large

Whereas, no tenured members of the faculty ran for the position of Senator-at-Large;

Whereas, the Constitution of the San Diego Mesa College Academic Senate require, "Any active tenured member of the Faculty eligible for election to the Senate shall be eligible for nomination to the office of Secretary/Treasurer and Senator at Large."

Whereas, tenure-track members of the Senate have interest in serving as Senator-at-Large;

Resolved; the San Diego Mesa College Academic Senate Constitution suspend the rule that the Senator at Large has to be tenured allowing tenure-track faculty to consider the position.

Resolved; the Academic Senate Executive board will revisit the issue by May 7th.

Article IV--Section 3.f.3.a:

<u>Current</u>: Any active tenured member of the Faculty eligible for election to the Senate shall be eligible for nomination to the office of Secretary/Treasurer and Senator at Large.

Proposed: Any active tenured member of the Faculty eligible for election to the Senate shall be eligible for nomination to the office of Secretary/Treasurer and Senator at Large.

Any active tenured/tenure-track member of the Faculty shall be eligible for nomination to the office of Senator at Large for the 2018-2019 academic year.

Presented to the Academic Senate: May 7, 2018

Approved by the Academic Senate: May 7, 2018

The unanimous approval is delineated as follows:

Gina Abbiate
Carlynne Allbee
Isaac Arguelles- Ibarra
Leela Bingham
Bill Brothers
Henry Browne
Moe Ebrahimi
Howard Eskew

Rob Fremland (Proxy to Paula Gustin)

Amanda Fusco

Karen Geida

Veronica Gerace

Lou Ann Gibson

Guadalupe "Lupe" Gonzalez

Helen Greenbergs

Alison Gurganus

Paula Gustin

Bill Hoefer

Sharon Hughes

Holly Jagielinski

Candace Katungi

Kim Lacher

Jonathan McLeod

Dina Miyoshi

Bruce Naschak

Robert Sanchez

Steven Siegel

Judy Sundayo

George Svoboda

Gwen Ulrich-Schlumbohm

Manuel Velez

Jorge Villalobos

Lauren Wade Walter "Duane" Wesley

George Ye