## Resolution 18.5.2 – Proposed Constitutional Changes (Career Technical Education Committee): Miyoshi

1<sup>st</sup> Reading: May 7, 2018

Mover: McLeod

Seconded: Gibson

Proposed Change to the AS Constitution Regarding the Career Technical Education (CTE) Committee:

## **ARTICLE IV – SECTION 4-I:**

**Current:** The Faculty Chair of the Career Technical Education (CTE) Committee shall be selected for a three-year term by the Faculty members of the committee.

**Proposed Changes to AS Constitution Bylaws Regarding the CTE Committee:** 

### **ARTICLE I – SECTION 11:**

# SECTION 11 – FACULTY CHAIR OF THE CAREER TECHNICAL EDUCATION (CTE) COMMITTEE:

It shall be the duty of the Faculty Chair of the CTE Committee to:

- A. Chair the Career Technical Education (CTE) Committee
- B. Serve as the CTE Liaison representing San Diego Mesa College at the Academic Senate for CA Community Colleges (ASCCC) Level (attend the CTE Leadership Institute)
- C. Attend the Region 10 CTE Meetings
- D. Serve as a Member of the Academic Senate CTE Representative
- E. Serve as a Member of the Senate Executive Committee
- F. Serve as the link between the CTE Committee and the SWF Committee

### Proposed Changes to AS Constitution Senate Rules Regarding the CTE Committee:

### **ARTICLE II – SECTION 4A:**

### **Proposed Changes:**

#### Composition:

- 1. Faculty Chair (CTE Liaison)
  - a. The Faculty Chair of the CTE Committee (CTE Liaison) shall be elected for a three-year term by the Faculty members of the committee.
- 2. Six (6) CTE Faculty Members:
  - Two (2 CTE Faculty Members School of Business and Digital Technology (Not from the same program)
  - Two (2) CTE Faculty Members School of Health Sciences and Public Service (Not from the same program)
  - One (1) CTE Faculty Member School of Exercise Science, Health and Athletics
  - One (1) CTE Faculty Member School of Social/ Behavioral Sciences and Multicultural Studies
- 3. One (1) Counseling Faculty Member
- 4. One (1) Work-Based Learning Coordinator
- 5. One (1) Work Experience Coordinator
- 6. One Faculty from English Department
- 7. One Faculty from Mathematics Department
- 8. One (1) Classified Staff Member Potentially an Instructional Lab Technician for CTE

- 9. One (1) CTE Student Selected by the Associated Student Government (ASG)
- 10. One (1) Non CTE Faculty member <u>Not from the Schools of Business and Technology or Health Sciences and Public Service</u>
- 11. Ex-Officio Members:
  - Dean (School of Health Sciences and Public Service)
  - Dean (School of Business & Technology)
  - Dean (Associate Dean, CTE)
  - Dean (Student Development)

### **ARTICLE II – SECTION 4B:**

### **Duties:**

- 1. The Career Technical Education (CTE) Committee shall be responsible for:
- 2. Working with stakeholders to engage industry and local workforce development boards.
- a. The purpose of which is to provide a data-informed approach to building "more and better" CTE programs for San Diego Mesa College that are proactive and responsive to industry needs.
- 3. Establishing a liaison relationship with San Diego Mesa College's local Academic Senate, the Academic Senate for California Community Colleges (ASCCC), the San Diego Community College District (SDCCD) Chancellor's Office, the Regional Consortia and the State Chancellor's Office.
- 4. Endeavoring to insure equal access for all CTE Faculty programs to a venue of dialogue and advocacy for each of their respective programs.
- 5. Communicating relevant data, policy, procedures, developments, new programs and other items relevant to CTE programs and Strong Workforce to the Academic Senate.
- 6. Presenting Strong Workforce Program budget to the Academic Senate.
- 7. Reporting out on the Strong Workforce Committee items.

Presented to the Academic Senate: May 7, 2018

Approved by the Academic Senate: September 24, 2018

# The unanimous approval votes are delineated as follows:

Gina Abbiate	Sharon Hughes
Carlynne Allbee	<ul> <li>Inna Kanevsky</li> </ul>
Becca Arnold	Candace Katungi
Janna Braun	Terry Kohlenberg
Bill Brothers	Kim Lacher
Henry Browne	Jonathan McLeod
John Crocitti	David Milroy
Moe Ebrahimi	Dina Miyoshi
Howard Eskew	Bruce Naschak
Veronica Gerace	Anthony Reuss
Lou Ann Gibson	Robert Sanchez
Helen Greenbergs	Shannon Shi
Alison Gurganus	George Svoboda
Amanda Hernandez	Manuel Velez
Bill Hoefer	Jorge Villalobos
Andrew Hoffman	Lauren Wade
John Hoskins	Walter "Duane"
	Wesley