Resolution 19.4.1 - Support for AB 1150 (Signatures for Board of Trustee Candidates): Perigo

1st Reading: April 8, 2019

Mover: McLeod

Seconded: Braun

WHEREAS, Community colleges are governed by a bilateral system that includes both by a statewide Board of Governors appointed by the Governor and local boards of trustees elected by the people; and

WHEREAS, Locally-elected governing boards exercise general supervision over their local districts and provide leadership through planning and policymaking to assure local education programs and services meet the education needs of the communities the district serves, as well as regional and state needs; and

WHEREAS, Existing law requires members of a governing board to be elected in a manner established by specified statutes, especially the Charter of the City of San Diego and Section 72035 of the Education Code; and

WHEREAS, Proposed legislation, Assembly Bill 1150 (Gloria), would establish additional requirements for a candidate to be elected as a member of the governing board of the San Diego Community College District in order to comply with the procedural and substantive requirements for filing nomination papers that apply in municipal elections.

RESOLVED that the Academic Senate for San Diego Mesa College support Assembly Bill 1150 (Gloria), which would revise Section 72035 of the Education Code to specify that each candidate for the governing board shall be proposed by not less than 100 nor more than 120 voters in a trustee area.

Presented to the Academic Senate: April 8, 2019 Approved the Academic Senate: April 8, 2019

The votes are delineated on the following page:

- Approved:
 Gina Abbiate
- Janna Braun
- **Bill Brothers**
- Kris Clark
- Moe Ebrahimi
- Rosiangela Escamilla Karen Geida
- Veronica Gerace Lou Ann Gibson Alison Gurganus

- Andrew Hoffman
- John Hoskins
- Holly Jagielinski Terry Kohlenberg
- Jonathan McLeod
- Dina Miyoshi
 Bruce Naschak
 Olga Pilipets
 Robert Sanchez
 Kristian Secor

- Shannon Shi

- Judy Sundayo Lauren Wade Walter "Duane Wesley Tonya Whitfield

- Opposed:
 Carlynne Allbee
- Helen Greenbergs
- Bill Hoefer
- David Milroy

Abstained:

- Becca Arnold
- John Crocitti Howard Eskew
- **Sharon Hughes**
- Inna Kanevsky Candace Katungi Anthony Reuss