Resolution 2020.10.1 – Condemning Sexist and Misogynistic Language: Katungi

Move: Braun

Second: Lopez

Whereas, San Diego Mesa College is the Leading College of Equity and Excellence committed to providing a safe, accessible, and inclusive environment for all students, and

Whereas, a faculty member used sexist and misogynistic language during the President's Cabinet meeting on Tuesday, September 15, 2020, immediately after the Associated Student President's report; and

Whereas, the Associated Student President reported to the Academic Senate on Monday, September 21, 2020, that she was personally harmed by the faculty member's words and asked the Academic Senate to take action to "center equity in the moment" and protect students from hateful and abusive language when incidents occur; and

Whereas the mission of the Academic Senate, as stated in section 2.B of the San Diego Mesa College Academic Senate Constitution, "shall be to work for the general welfare of San Diego Mesa College, its students, staff, and Faculty;" be it therefore

Resolved, the San Diego Mesa College Academic Senate condemns the sexist and misogynistic language used at the President's Cabinet meeting on September 15, 2020; and be it also

Resolved that, the San Diego Mesa College Academic Senate denounces the use of any language that is rooted in hatred; and be it also

Resolved that, the San Diego Mesa College Academic Senate acknowledges the harm caused by the sexist and misogynistic language used during the President's Cabinet meeting on September 15, 2020, and publicly apologizes to Associated Student President Taylor Carpenter on behalf of the faculty.

Presented to the Mesa College Academic Senate: October 5, 2020 Approved by the Mesa College Academic Senate: October 19, 2020

The votes are delineated on the following page:

Approved:

Carlynne Allbee

Isaac Arguelles-Ibarra

Janna Braun

Michael Brewer

Henry Browne

John Crocitti

Nellie Dougherty

Rosiangela Escamilla

Howard Eslew

Rob Fremland

Veronica Gerace

Lou Ann Gibson

Helen Greenbergs

Mary Gwin

Alison Gurganus

Bill Hoefer

Andrew Hoffman

Sharon Hughes

Christina Huynh

Holly Jagielinski

Geoffrey Johnson

Janue Johnson

Candace Katungi

Jesse Keller

Gloria Kim

Terry Kohlenberg

Kim Lacher

César López

Dina Miyoshi

Katherine Naimark

Bruce Naschak

Roger "Rusty" Nichols

Alison Primoza

Anthony Reuss

Robert Sanchez

Kristian Secor

Leslie Seiger

Shannon Shi

Irena Stojimirovic

Judy Sundayo

Oscar V. Torres

Lauren Wade

Karen Wait

Opposed:

George Svoboda