	SAN	DIEGO	MEŜA	COLLEGE	ACADEMI	C SENATE
	7250 ME	SA COLLEGE E	RIVE, SAN DI	EGO, CA 92111-4998	(619) 388-2733	FAX (619) 388-2929

Resolution 2021.3.1 – Proposed Constitutional Changes for Committee on Elections: Oscar V. Torres, Ph.D.

Move:	Gwin
Second:	Seiger

Whereas, Duties of the Academic Senate Executive Committee include proposing amendments to the Senate Constitution, Bylaws or the Senate Rules in accordance with State and local governance as appropriate; and

Whereas, The Academic Affairs Committee reviews, considers and comments on standards established by State and local governance policies under the purview of the Senate; and

Whereas, Amendments to Senate Constitution may be adopted during regular Senate meetings, by two-thirds (2/3) vote of Senators present at that regular meeting, given that the proposed amendments have been previously presented; be it therefore

Resolved that the following Senate Constitution amendments be ratified:

Page 13

SECTION 13 - FACULTY CHAIR OF THE COMMITTEE ON ELECTIONS

It shall be the duty of the Chair of the Committee on Elections to:

- A. Chair the Committee on Elections and serve a two-year rotation term as outlined by Article I, Section 5. Subsection D.
- B. Provide assistance in the recruitment of faculty to serve on the Committee on Elections
- C. Report election results to the Senate Executive Committee in a timely manner
- D. Report opinion poll results to the Senate Executive Committee as outlined by Article VI, Section 8. Subsection C.

Page 23

SECTION 7 - COMMITTEE ON ELECTIONS:

A. Composition:

The Committee shall consist of:

- 1. A Chair who is not part of the Senate Executive Committee and at least two (2) Faculty members. Selection of the Chair shall be voted on by standing members of the committee and ratified by the Senate Executive Committee, as outlined by Article I, Section 5. Subsection D. Standing members shall be appointed by the Committee on Committees. The total number of committee members, including the Chair, shall be an odd number representing a variety of departments.
- 2. If any member of the Committee on Elections wishes to be a candidate for a Senate Executive position, then that member must vacate their seat on the Committee on Elections prior to announcing their candidacy.

B. Duties:

The Committee shall be responsible for:

- 1. Establishing election procedures.
- 2. Identifying vacancies, election procedures and recruitment strategies for filling Senate vacancies.
- 3. Conducting all opinion polls that are initiated by the Senate.
- 4. Reporting election results to the Senate Executive Committee in a timely manner.
- 4. Resolving cases when there is doubt regarding election results, the eligibility of a candidate to run for office, membership in the Senate or membership status of the electorate.
- 5. Supervising and administering elections for all Senate offices

Page 9

ARTICLE VII PROFESSIONAL DUES

Page 27

SECTION 1 – PARLIAMENTARIAN:

There shall be a Parliamentarian appointed by the Senate President serving at the pleasure of the President, in alignment with the Academic Senate for California Community College (ASCCC) bylaws and polices. The Parliamentarian's role shall be to give advice on parliamentary procedure to the Senate President, Senate Officers, Senate standing committees, and Senate members. The Parliamentarian may not serve while in non-faculty administrative roles, on a Leave of Absence, or on Sabbatical. If a senator is appointed to the Parliamentarian position, then the senator vacates their seat.

Page 28

SECTION 1 - PARLIAMENTARY PROCEDURES:

Parliamentary procedure that is not covered by these Senate Rules shall be determined according to the latest edition of "Robert's Rules of Order" in accordance with the "Brown Act."

Presented to the Academic Senate:April 5, 2021Approved by the Academic Senate:April 19, 2021

The votes are delineated on the following page:

31 APPROVED 2 OPPOSED **1 ABSTAINED** Members present for the vote: C. Allbee I. Arguelles-Ibarra J. Braun M. Brewer J. Crocitti N. Dougherty H. Eskew, R. Fremland V. Gerace L. A. Gibson M. Gwin B. Hoefer A. Hoffman S. Hughes C. Huynh H. Jagielinski G. Johnson, J. Johnson I Kanevsky C. Katungi J. Keller G. Kim T. Kohlenberg K. Lacher D. Miyoshi K. Naimark R. Nichols A. Primoza A. Reuss R. Sanchez J. Sardo K. Secor L. Seiger S. Shi, I I. Stojimirovic J. Sundayo G. Svoboda O. V. Torres, K. Wait