

Resolution 2021.4.1 – Condemning Anti-Asian American Pacific Islander (AAPI) Racism and Affirming Faculty Defense of Mesa College's AAPI Community: John Crocitti/Black Lives Matter Task Force: (Updated by Gloria Kim) May 17, 2021

Move: Primoza

Second: Seiger

Whereas Asian Americans and Pacific Islanders (AAPI) have long endured acts of overt and concealed acts of racism, hatred, and discrimination, including psychological, verbal, and physical assaults, in virtual and physical spaces;

Whereas violent attacks on AAPI have recently increased in visibility and severity, including the murder of six Asian American women in Asian owned businesses in Atlanta, GA on 16 March 2021, the beating of a 65 year old Asian American woman in broad daylight in Manhattan on 29 March 2021, the attack on an Asian American father in front of his 1-year-old in San Francisco on 30 April 2021, the stabbing of 65-year-old and 85-year-old Asian American elderly women in San Francisco on 4 May 2021, the attack on two Asian American women in Baltimore on 3 May 2021, among many other attacks that are reported, not reported, or overlooked;

Whereas the law enforcement and administrative responses to the acts of violence reinforce dangerous AAPI stereotypes, especially the exoticizing, infantilizing, and demonizing of AAPI women, and the dismissal and erasure of AAPI elders;

Resolved that the Mesa College Academic Senate condemns acts of psychological, verbal and physical violence, abuse, hatred, and discrimination against AAPI folks;

Resolved that Mesa faculty members will stand firm in listening to and defending AAPI colleagues and students against psychological, verbal, and physical attacks whenever and wherever it might occur;

Resolved that student and new employee orientations and/or handbooks address forms of microaggression against and stereotyping of AAPI folks, and that faculty members offer their support for AAPI initiatives, organizations, programming, and curriculum that affirm AAPI voices, histories, and experiences.

Presented to the Academic Senate: April 19, 2021 Approved by the Academic Senate: May 17, 2021

The unanimous vote delineation is on page 2.

## Present:

Academic Senate President M. Velez

- E. Adelson
- C. Allbee
- I. Arguelles-Ibarra
- J. Braun
- M. Brewer
- H. Browne
- J. Crocitti
- N. Dougherty
- H. Eskew
- R. Fremland
- V. Gerace
- A. Gurganus
- M. Gwin
- A. Hoffman
- S. Hughes
- C. Huynh
- H. Jagielinski
- G. Johnson
- I. Kanevsky
- C. Katungi
- J. Keller
- G. Kim
- T. Kohlenberg
- K. Lacher
- D. Miyoshi
- K. Naimark
- R. Nichols
- A. Primoza
- A. Reuss
- R. Sanchez
- J. Sardo
- K. Secor
- L. Seiger
- S. Shi
- I. Stojimirovic
- G. Svoboda,
- O. V. Torres
- K. Wait
- W. Wesley

## **Proxies**:

- R. Escamilla (Proxy to R. Rodrigo)
- J. Sundayo (Proxy to A. Reuss)