

Resolution 2021.5.3 – Prioritize Funding for the Hiring of Tenure-Track Ethnic Studies Faculty: Katungi, Mayasa, Parker (2nd Reading)

Move: Primoza

Second: G. Johnson

Whereas, Ethnic Studies is an interdisciplinary and comparative study of race and ethnicity with special focus on four historically defined racialized core groups—Native Americans, African Americans, Asian Americans, and Latina/o Americans—offered through various disciplines including Ethnic Studies, Chicana and Chicano Studies, Latina and Latino Studies, African-American Studies, Black Studies, Asian-American Studies, Native-American Studies, Africana Studies, Mexican-American Studies, Indigenous Studies, Filipino Studies, La Raza Studies, and Central American Studies; and

Whereas, the state of California has witnessed a growing call for Ethnic Studies requirements in virtually all levels of public education which has recently led to the signing of AB1460 by Governor Newsom, requiring one 3-unit course in Ethnic Studies to the Cal State University system's graduation requirements as well as an expected growth in demand for courses in ethnic studies disciplines at California Community Colleges; and

Whereas Chicana/o Studies is currently ranked #2 on the 2021-2020 & 2021-2022 Faculty Hiring Priority list, and discipline experts in Black Studies, Asian American and Pacific Islander Studies and Native American (or American Indian Studies) would contribute to the growth and expansion of Ethnic Studies courses and curriculum at Mesa College; be it therefore

Resolved, the Mesa College Academic Senate work with the other Academic Senates in the SDCCD to urge the District to prioritize funding allocations for the hiring of Ethnic Studies Faculty as soon as they become available.

Presented to the Academic Senate: May 3, 2021 Approved by the Academic Senate: May 17, 2021

The votes are delineated on the following page:

Members present for the meeting:

- E. Adelson
- C. Allbee (Abstained)
- I. Arguelles-Ibarra
- J. Braun (Abstained)
- M. Brewer
- H. Browne
- J. Crocitti
- N. Dougherty
- H. Eskew
- R. Fremland
- V. Gerace
- A. Gurganus
- M. Gwin
- A. Hoffman
- S. Hughes (Abstained)
- C. Huynh
- H. Jagielinski
- G. Johnson
- I. Kanevsky
- C. Katungi
- J. Keller
- G. Kim
- T. Kohlenberg
- K. Lacher
- D. Miyoshi
- K. Naimark
- R. Nichols
- A. Primoza
- A. Reuss
- R. Sanchez
- J. Sardo
- K. Secor
- L. Seiger
- S. Shi
- I. Stojimirovic
- G. Svoboda
- O. V. Torres
- K. Wait
- W. Wesley