Resolution 2022.2.1 – Condemning Violence Against Journalists in Mexico and Other Countries: J. Braun

Move: Vélez

Second: Escamilla

Whereas journalists in Mexico have long endured verbal threats, physical assaults, and death from simply doing their jobs,

Whereas 15 Mexican journalists have been killed since May 2021, including 5 in the last month and 2 in Tijuana,

Whereas the non-profit organization Reporters Without Borders ranks Mexico 143 out of 180 countries on its World Press Freedom Index,

Whereas students, faculty, and staff in the Mesa College community and the greater San Diego community have strong personal and professional ties to Mexico and all benefit from its substantive journalism,

Resolved that the Mesa College Academic Senate condemns this violence against Mexican journalists and journalists in any country who are threatened,

Resolved that the Mesa College Academic Senate strongly urges the governments in Mexico and other countries to do more to protect journalists who are threatened,

Resolved that the Mesa College Academic Senate affirms that freedom of the press and freedom of speech/expression are essential components of the learning environment.

Presented to the Academic Senate: February 14, 2022

Approved by the Academic Senate: March 7, 2022

The votes are delineated on the following page:

Absences: V. Gerace (Proxy to Sundayo, J. Johnson (Proxy to Gurganus), I. Kanevsky and K. Wait (Proxy to Hedi Allen-Hydo)

Approve:

- G. Abbiate,
- C. Allbee,
- I. Arguelles-Ibarra
- J. Braun
- M. Brewer
- H. Browne
- L. Creswell
- N. Dougherty
- I. Duckles
- R. Escamilla
- H. Eskew
- R. Fremland
- S. Gallardo
- V. Gerace (Proxy to Sundayo)

Helen Greenbergs

- M. Gwin
- A. Gurganus

Paula Gustin

- J. Hernandez
- A. Hoffman
- G. Johnson
- J. Johnson (Proxy to Gurganus)
- C. Katungi
- J. Keller
- K. Lacher
- C. López
- N. Mapes
- D. Miyoshi P. Motaleb
- K. Naimark
- R. Nichols
- A. Primoza
- W. Ray
- A. Reuss
- R. Sanchez
- J. Sardo
- K. Secor
- I. Stojimirovic
- J. Sundayo
- G. Svoboda
- O. V. Torres
- M. Vélez
- W. Wesley

Abstain:

- R. Mongelluzzo
- K. Wait (Proxy to Hydo)