## Resolution 2022.3.1 – The Mesa College Library Advisory Committee: Gurganus/Academic Affairs Committee

Move: Torres

Second: Hoffman

Whereas, A considerable shift in library services dealing with how books and digital resources are acquired, cataloged, or accessed by students has occurred given Covid-19 and the development of new curriculum using online platforms; and

Whereas, Duties of the Senate Executive Committee include amending the Academic Senate Constitution in accordance with State and local governance processes as appropriate; and

Whereas, Amendments to the Senate Constitution may be adopted during regular Senate meetings by a two-thirds majority vote by Senators in favor of the proposed changes; be it therefore

Resolved that the current Academic Senate Constitution be updated to include the following amendments to Section 11, page 25 to page 26, for the creation of a new Library Advisory Committee:

### Page 25

## SECTION 11 - THE LEARNING RESOURCES CENTER (LRC) LIASION COMMITTEE:

### A. Composition:

The Committee shall consist of:

- 1.—An Administrative Co-Chair
- A Faculty Co-Chair
- 3. At least four (1) other Faculty members appointed by the Committee on Committees.
  - a. Committee membership must be representative of the various schools, departments and programs of the college.

### B. Duties:

The Learning Resource Center (LRC) Committee shall be responsible for:

- 1. Meeting with LRC representatives regularly to discuss topics of mutual concern.
- 2.—Acting as the liaison between Faculty and the LRC.
- 3.—Acting as a sounding board for LRC pilot programs and other new ideas.
- 4.—Communicating LRC changes, ideas, knowledge, procedures and services to the Faculty.
- 5. Making regular reports to the Senate on its findings and recommendations.
- 6. Notifying the LRC of Faculty needs.

## Page 26

## B. Duties:

The Tenure and Promotion Review Committee shall be responsible for reviewing all recommendations for promotion and tenure and:

- 1.—Determining if the recommendations are procedurally correct.
- Determining if the recommendations meet general College and District standards.
- Making the final College level recommendations regarding promotions to the College President.

## SECTION 11 - THE MESA LIBRARY ADVISORY COMMITTEE

## A. Composition:

The Committee shall consist of:

- 1. Two librarian faculty Co-Chairs
- 2. The current Lead or Chair of the Library (if not already present as a co-chair)
- 3. An administrative representative
- 4. Contract or Adjunct faculty members representing each Instructional School including:
  - a. School of Business and Technology
  - b. School of Humanities
  - c. School of Arts and Languages
  - d. School of Mathematics and Natural Sciences
  - e. School of Health Sciences/Public Service
  - f. School of Exercise Science, Health Education, Athletics and Dance
- 5. Additional committee members from distinct departments across campus including: a. Student Services
  - b. Disability Services
  - c. College Technology Services
  - d. Classified Professional
  - F. Student Representative

### B. Duties:

- 1. Committee members shall provide input to the librarians regarding library services, innovative practices, and other library related matters for the campus community.
- 2. Committee members shall serve as representatives of their respective school, or area of expertise, and advocate for topics of mutual concerns as well as services provided by the Library.
- 3. Committee members shall discuss cost projections and challenges for books, journals, databases, streaming media, and other materials.
- 4. Committee members shall commit to embedding equity, diversity, and inclusion into Library services and resources.
- 5. Committee members shall foster communication and update faculty, as well as other constituency groups, regarding changes at the Library.
- 6. Committee members shall make regular reports to the Senate and provide recommendations regarding Library matters.

Presented to the Academic Senate: March 21, 2022

Approved by the Academic Senate: April 11, 2022

The votes are delineated on the following page.

**39 Approve**Primoza
(Proxy to Abbiate) **1 Abstain**Wait

# Member present for the vote:

Gina Abbiate	Natalie Mapes
Carlynne Allbee	Dina Miyoshi
Isaac Arguelles-Ibarra	Ryan Mogelluzzo
Janna Braun	Pegah Motaleb
Michael Brewer	Katherine Naimark
Henry Browne	Rusty Nichols
Laura Creswell	Waverly Ray
Ian Duckles	Anthony Reuss
Howard Eskew	Robert Sanchez
Rob Fremland	Jessica Sardo
Rosiangela Escamilla	Kristian Secor
Sakeenah Gallardo	Irena Stojimirovic
Veronica Gerace	Oscar V. Torres
Helen Greenbergs	Manuel Vélez
Mary Gwin	
Alison Gurganus	
Paula Gustin	
Jennifer Hernandez	
Andrew Hoffman	
Janue Johnson	
Geoffery Johnson	
Candace Katungi	
Jesse Keller	
Kim Lacher	
Cesar López	