

SAN DIEGO MESA COLLEGE

Resolution 2024.3.2 – Affirming the Goals of the San Diego Mesa College Climate Action Plan 2024:

Primoza/Rodriguez

Mover: G. Johnson Seconder: Sundayo

**Whereas** the Stewardship Goal in Mesa 2030 calls on us to "develop and sustain processes that prioritize environmental justice and sustainability, [and] reduce Mesa College's carbon footprint...," and

**Whereas** the strategic objectives for accomplishing the Stewardship Goal include the following: 1) "In collaboration with students, develop a climate action plan aligned with state and city goals that includes a timeline to reduce Mesa College's carbon footprint, focuses on climate literacy and student action, and mitigates Mesa's impact on climate change," and 2) "Support processes and initiatives that prioritize environmental sustainability and reduce Mesa College's impact on climate change," and

**Whereas** the Mesa College Climate Action Plan 2024 has been developed by faculty, classified professionals, and students, based on principles of equity and excellence, and

Whereas the Mesa College Climate Action Plan 2024 includes an overall goal of attaining a GOLD rating based on the criteria of the Sustainability Tracking and Rating System (STARS) developed by the Association for the Advancement of Sustainability in Higher Education (AASHE), and

**Whereas** many of the goals and recommended steps included in the Mesa College Climate Action Plan 2024 fall under the purview of the Academic Senate, be it therefore

Resolved, that the Mesa College Academic Senate affirms and supports the Mesa College Climate Action Plan 2024 and its overall goal of attaining a GOLD rating for our college, and further

**Resolved**, that the Mesa College Academic Senate particularly affirms and supports the goals and recommended steps outlined in "Section 2: Education" of the Mesa College Climate Action Plan 2024.

View and comment on the plan at Tinyurl.com/mesacapdraft

Presented to the SDMC AS: March 4, 2024 Approved by the SDMC AS: March 18, 2024

The votes are delineated on the following page:

**31 Approve**Burgert
(Proxy to Gwin) **1 Abstain**Estep

## Votes:

- Carlynne Allbee
- Isaac Arguelles-Ibarra
- Lisa Burgert
- Michael Brewer
- Henry Browne
- Jennifer Cost
- John Crocitti
- Nellie Dougherty
- Justin Estep (Abstain)
- Helen Greenbergs
- Mary Gwin
- James Hinton
- Alex Holowicki
- Cathy James
- Geoff Johnson
- Candace Katungi
- Jesse Keller
- Mariam Kushkaki
- Sam Lee
- Thekima Mayasa
- Dina Miyoshi,
- Ryan Mongelluzzo
- Jennifer Moreno
- Jill Moreno Ikari
- Katherine Naimark
- Scott Plambek
- Alison Primoza
- Anthony Reuss
- Michelle Rodriguez
- Robert Sanchez
- Jessica Sardo
- Kristian Secor
- Judy Sundayo
- George Svoboda
- Ngoc "Kim" Tran
- Karen Wait