

SAN DIEGO MESA COLLEGE ACADEMIC SENATE

7250 MESA COLLEGE DRIVE, SAN DIEGO, CA 92111-4998 (619) 388-2733 FAX (619) 388-2929

Resolution 14.9.1 – Academic Affairs Committee (Constitutional Changes): Inna Kanevsky

1st Reading:

September 22, 2014

Mover:

McLeod

Second:

Fremland

<u>SECTION 2 – THE ACADEMIC AFFAIRS COMMITTEE:</u>

A. Composition:

- 1. A Faculty Co-Chair who also serves on the Senate Executive Committee
- 2. An administrative representative
- 3. At least nine (9) other fulltime Faculty representatives, one from each School and one each from Counseling and the LRC
- 4. Additional Faculty representatives, either full time or adjunct, as needed
- 5. Faculty members serve three years, with three members replaced each year

B. <u>Duties:</u>

- 1. Discuss, review, and research Curriculum and Instructional issues brought before it by the President's Cabinet, the Chairs, Deans' Council, or the Academic Senate
- 2. Draft position papers for submission to the Senate and the President's Cabinet for approval
- 3. Review, consider, and comment on policies and procedures as established by State and local governance which may include, but is not limited to, the following:
 - a. Articulation
 - b. Catalogs
 - c. Class Capacities
 - d. Course Review and Approval
 - e. Curriculum Balance
 - f. District Educational Policies
 - g. District and General Education Requirements
 - h. Instructional Assistance (Lab Technicians, Readers, Tutors, etc.)
 - i. Prerequisite and Co-Requisite Validations
 - j. Review of Standards and Practices
 - k. Program Review
 - I. Title 5
- 4. Request reports on matters that pertain to the overall Instructional Program of the College.
- 5. Create standing subcommittees of the Academic Affairs Committee when appropriate, such as
 - a. Asian-Pacific Islanders
 - b. Global Awareness
 - c. Humanities Institute
 - d. Learning Communities (LCOMs)
 - e. Teacher Education
 - f. Women's Studies
 - g. Any other issues that fall under the committee's responsibilities
- 6. Designate committee members to serve on other college and/or district committees where participation of the Academic Affairs Committee is necessary

Presented to the Academic Senate: September 22, 2014

Approved by the Academic Senate: October 6, 2014 (The votes are delineated on the following page.)

Becca Arnold, Angela Arreaga, Christine Balderas, Jennifer Carmichael, John Crocitti, Nellie Dougherty, Sarah Eighraoui, Rob Fremland, Veronica Gerace, Lou Ann Gibson, Guadalupe "Lupe" Gonzalez, Kimberly Hart, Martina Hesser, Bill Hoefer, Laleh Howard, Terry Kohlenberg, Ken Kuniyuki, Inna Kanevsky, Guillermo Marrujo, Thekima Mayasa, Jonathan McLeod, Phyllis Meckstroth, Devin Milner, Dina Miyoshi, Michelle "Toni" Parsons, Robert Sanchez, Marilynn Schenk, Leslie Seiger, Shannon Shi, Judy Sundayo, George Svoboda, Akunna Winston and guests President Luster and Chris Sullivan

APPROVED:

Becca Arnold **Christine Balderas** Jennifer Carmichael Bill Clary John Crocitti **Rob Fremland** Veronica Gerace Lou Ann Gibson Kimberly Hart Erika Higginbotham Laleh Howard Inna Kanevsky Terry Kohlenberg Ken Kuniyuki Jonathan McLeod Phyllis Meckstroth Devin Milner, Dina Miyoshi Michelle "Toni" Parsons Ron Ryno Robert Sanchez Marilynn Schenk Leslie Seiger Shannon Shi Steven Siegel

ABSTAINED:

Judy Sundayo

Leticia Lopez