

SAN DIEGO MESA COLLEGE **academic senate**

7250 MESA COLLEGE DRIVE, SAN DIEGO, CA 92111-4998 (619) 388-2733 FAX (619) 388-2929

Resolution 16.4.2 - Support for Languages Department Students (Restoration of Funds for Reassigned Time for the Faculty Languages Center Coordinator & Tutoring Services): Senator Uriel Ornelas & the Mesa College Languages Department (Revised May 2, 2016)

1st Reading: April 18, 2016

Mover: Ornelas

Seconded: Kohlenberg

Whereas, prior to 2008, .666 FTE reassigned time was made available in the Mesa College budget each semester for the Faculty Languages Lab Coordinator position and the Languages Department received an \$8,000.00 annual budget for tutoring Languages Department students and

Whereas, the Language Lab Coordinator position was eliminated in 2008 due to budget cuts with the **promise** of restoration when Mesa College's budget is restored and

Whereas, reassigned time for the Faculty Languages Lab Coordinator position for the Languages Center and the corresponding budget for tutoring Languages Department students have not been restored despite efforts to request funding restoration through Program Review, Basic Skills and Equity Funding, and

Whereas, Mesa College now has a Languages Center with an office for a Faculty Languages Center Coordinator that was part of the original plan for the Languages Center, but no funding is being made available for the reassigned time needed to fill the Faculty Languages Center Coordinator position or for Tutoring Services for Languages Department students, and

Whereas, Mesa College has now hired a coordinator for tutoring services and has a dedicated budget for tutoring including additional Faculty reassigned time,

Be it resolved that the Languages Department and the Academic Senate collaborate with Administration to include the Languages Center in the comprehensive plan for Tutoring Services at Mesa College to ensure full utilization of the Languages Center by Languages Students.

Presented to the Academic Senate: April 18, 2016

Approved by the Academic Senate: May 2, 2016

Unanimously approved by the following meeting attendees:

Carlynne Allbee, Becca Arnold, Aulani Chun, Leslie Cloud, John Crocitti, Peggy Fischer, Amanda Fusco, Veronica Gerace, Guadalupe "Lupe" Gonzalez, Helen Greenbergs, Martina Hesser, Erika Higginbotham, Sharon Hughes, Bill Hoefer, Inna Kanevsky, Ken Kuniyuki, Jonathan McLeod, Phyllis Meckstroth, Devin Milner, Dina Miyoshi, Uriel Ornelas, Michelle "Toni" Parsons, Kim Perigo, Olga Pillipets, Tina Recalde, Joe Safdie, Robert Sanchez, Steven Siegel, Judy Sundayo, Shannon Shi, Gwen Ulrich-Schlumbohm, Lauren Wade, Tracey Walker and George Ye. Laleh Howard (Proxy to Phyllis Meckstroth)