

SAN DIEGO MESA COLLEGE ACADEMIC SENATE

7250 MESA COLLEGE DRIVE, SAN DIEGO, CA 92111-4998 (619) 388-2733 FAX (619) 388-2929

Resolution 17.4.2 – Formation of the CTE Committee (Academic Senate Committee): Fremland/Eskew

1 st Reading:	April 10, 2017
Mover:	Eskew
Seconded:	Sykes

Whereas Career Technical Education (CTE) is an important part of the Mesa College Mission and

Whereas with the Strong Workforce Taskforce there has been made available resources to augment CTE programs and

Whereas the Academic Senate for California Community Colleges (ASCCC) has recommended that local academic senates have a CTE liaison, therefore

Be it resolved that a CTE Committee be created that reports to the Academic Senate the composition and duties of which are attached to this resolution and

Be it further resolved that the CTE Liaison from that committee be added to the membership of the Executive Committee of the Academic Senate (add this to the constitution)

SENATE RULES SAN DIEGO MESA COLLEGE

ACADEMIC SENATE CONSTITUTION

ARTICLE I - COMMITTEE GOVERNANCE

SECTION 1 - SENATE STANDING COMMITTEES:

- A. The Senate shall have the following Standing Committees:
 - 1. Senate Executive Committee
 - 2. Academic Affairs Committee
 - 3. Academic Senate Equivalency Committee (ASEC)
 - 4. Career Technical Education (CTE) Committee
 - 5. Committee of Chairs (COC)
 - 6. Committee on Committees
 - 7. Committee on Elections
 - 8. Curriculum Review Committee (CRC)
 - 9. Faculty/Staff Advisory Committee on Threats (FACT)
 - 10. Faculty/Staff Committee on Distance Education
 - 11. Learning Resource Center Liaison Committee
 - 12. Professional Advancement Committee (PAC)
 - 13. Tenure & Promotion Review Committee
 - 14. Other Standing Committees as may be specified in the Senate Rules
- B. Special committees may be established as needed at the direction of the Senate or the Senate Executive Committee.

SECTION 4 - CAREER AND TECHNICAL EDUCATION (CTE) COMMITTEE:

A. Composition:

- 1. Faculty Co-Chair (CTE Liaison)
 - a. The Faculty Co-Chair of the CTE Committee (CTE Liaison) shall be elected for a three-year term by the Faculty members of the committee.
 - b. Responsibilities:
 - Co-Chair Career Technical Education (CTE) Committee
 - CTE Liaison representing San Diego Mesa College at the Academic Senate for CA Community Colleges (ASCCC) Level (attend the CTE Leadership Institute)
 - Attend the Region 10 CTE Meetings
 - Serve as a Member of the Academic Senate CTE Representative
 - Serve as a Member of the Senate Executive Committee
- 2. Administrative Co-Chair (Associate Dean Career and Technical Education)
- 3. Six (6) CTE Faculty Members:
 - Two (2 CTE Faculty Members School of Business and Digital Technology (Not from the same program)
 - Two (2) CTE Faculty Members School of Health Sciences and Public Service (Not from the same program)
 - One (1) CTE Faculty Member School of Exercise Science, Health and Athletics
 - One (1) CTE Faculty Member School of Social/ Behavioral Sciences and Multicultural Studies)
- 4. One (1) Counseling Faculty Member
- 5. One (1) Work-Based Learning Coordinator Title may change, but search is going on
- 6. One (1) Classified Staff Member Potentially an Instructional Lab Technician for CTE
- 7. One (1) CTE Student Selected by the Associated Student Government (ASG)
- One (1) Non CTE Faculty member <u>Not</u> from the Schools of Business and Technology or Health Sciences and Public Service
 Ex-Officio Members:
 - Dean (School of Health Sciences and Public Service)
 - Dean (School of Business & Technology)

B. Duties:

- The Career Technical Education (CTE) Committee shall be responsible for:
- 1. Forwarding its recommendations to the Mesa College Academic Senate.
- 2. Establishing, assessing and communicating policies, procedures and guidelines for CTE programs that align with State and Academic Senate for California Community Colleges (ASCCC) directives.
- 3. Establishing, assessing and communicating policies, procedures and guidelines for the allocation of funds from Strong Workforce Development programs.
- 4. Working with stakeholders to engage industry and local workforce development boards.
 - a. The purpose of which is to provide a data-informed approach to building "more and better" CTE programs for San Diego Mesa College that are proactive and responsive to industry needs.
- Establishing a liaison relationship with San Diego Mesa College's local Academic Senate, the Academic Senate for California Community Colleges (ASCCC), the San Diego Community College District (SDCCD) Chancellor's Office, the Regional Consortia and the State Chancellor's Office.
- Endeavoring to insure equal access for all CTE Faculty programs to a venue of dialogue and advocacy for each of their respective programs.
- Communicating relevant data, policy, procedures, developments, new programs and other items relevant to CTE programs and Strong Workforce to the Academic Senate.
- Presenting Strong Workforce Program budget to the Academic Senate.

C. Mission Statement:

- 1. The purpose of the CTE Committee is to provide guidance and support to the San Diego Mesa College CTE programs, which will allow for the unprecedented opportunity to strengthen the role of San Diego Mesa College CTE programs in the regional economy and significantly improve the ability of San Diego Mesa College CTE programs to prepare our students for employment.
 - a. Our mission will be accomplished through the collaborative efforts of CTE faculty, Administration, staff and the support of Strong Workforce funding. Specifically, this funding will allow San Diego Mesa College to:
 - Build capacity to serve more students in deeper ways through CTE;
 - Revitalize and innovate existing CTE courses, programs and degrees;
 - Invest in new courses, programs, certificates, degrees and transfer pathways;
 - Improve work-based and competency-based learning, employment connections and earnings for San Diego Mesa College CTE students and completers;
 - Deepen work with the workforce development infrastructure of Workforce Development Boards (WDBs), communitybased organizations, labor, employers and industry associations.

Presented to the Academic Senate: April 10, 2017 Approved by the Academic Senate: May 8, 2017

The votes are delineated on the following page:

The resolution was approved by the following Academic Senate Committee members: Gina Abbiate Carlynne Allbee Becca Arnold **Bill Brothers** Henry Browne John Crocitti Nellie Dougherty Howard Eskew Amanda Fusco Lou Ann Gibson Guadalupe "Lupe" Gonzalez Helen Greenbergs Paula Gustin Alison Gurganus Bill Hoefer Holly Jagielinsk Candace Katungi Cesar Lopez Phyllis Meckstroth Dina Miyoshi Kim Perigo Joe Safdie Robert Sanchez Shannon Shi Steven Siegel Dawn Stoll Judy Sundayo Paul Sykes Manuel Velez Lauren Wade

Abstained: Alex Stiller-Shulman