

7250 MESA COLLEGE DRIVE, SAN DIEGO, CA 92111-4998 (619) 388-2733 FAX (619) 388-2929

Resolution 17.4.3 – Proposed Constitutional Changes (Committee of Chairs Elections): Manuel Velez

1st Reading: April 24, 2017 Mover: Velez

Seconded: Brothers

Proposed Change to the AS Constitution Regarding COC Elections:

Article IV: Section 4-G:

Current: The Faculty Chair of the Committee of Chairs (COC) shall be elected for a two- year term by committee members from the pool of outgoing, continuing and newly elected Department Chairs.

1. No person shall serve in this position for more than two consecutive terms.

Proposed Change: The Faculty Chair of the Committee of Chairs (COC) shall be elected for a two-year term by committee members from the pool of outgoing, continuing, and newly elected Department Chairs.

- 1. No person shall serve in this position for more than two consecutive terms.
- 2. Anyone completing their first term as COC is eligible to run for a second term.

Proposed Addition to AS Constitution Regarding Interim Positions Article IV: Section 5:

- A. President:
 - 1. When the President of the Senate resigns or cannot complete their term, the President Elect shall serve out the remainder of the term.
 - a. During terms without a President Elect, the Immediate Past President shall assume the duties of the President until a President Elect is elected.
 - b. The previous Past President will be appointed to serve if the Immediate Past President resigns or cannot complete their term.
- B. Others:
 - 1. When any Senate Executive Committee Officer other than the President or the Immediate Past President resigns or cannot complete their term:
 - a. The Senate may designate one of its members to perform the duties of the office for the remainder of the term.
 - b. The Senate may also call for a special election to fill the vacancy in accordance with the Elections Code.
 - The previous Past President will be appointed to serve if the Immediate Past
 President resigns or cannot complete their term.
 - 2: Any faculty member elected or designated to serve the remainder of a term due to vacancies, shall not be considered as serving their own term.

Presented to the Academic Senate: April 24, 2017

Approved by the Academic Senate: May 8, 2017

The votes are delineated on the following page:

The resolution was unanimously approved by the following Academic Senate Committee members: Gina Abbiate Carlynne Allbee Becca Arnold **Bill Brothers** Henry Browne John Crocitti Nellie Dougherty Howard Eskew Amanda Fusco Lou Ann Gibson Guadalupe "Lupe" Gonzalez Helen Greenbergs Paula Gustin Alison Gurganus Bill Hoefer Holly Jagielinsk Candace Katungi Cesar Lopez Phyllis Meckstroth Dina Miyoshi Kim Perigo Joe Safdie Robert Sanchez Shannon Shi Steven Siegel Alex Stiller-Shulman Dawn Stoll Judy Sundayo Paul Sykes Manuel Velez Lauren Wade